Sunday, January 31, 2010

Scott is right on track to graduate

Yesterday x-c ski for 1.5 miles. I napped. :)

Today 3.5 miles, I read a book. It was really cold out.

I think Sage will miss school tomorrow, so no gym. If I get a good nights sleep I will get up early to exercise before the kiddies wake up.

Workout Weekend

Hi fellow exercisers,

Yesterday I went to the gym and ran for 20 minutes. Today I was a home body, but I did manage to take Norma Jean for a half hour walk today. Hope everyone has a good week and exercises lots!

Where are you all?

Saturday-rest day! Rode the bike 10 miles this morning. Checked my blood pressure and it was well within the normal range------that's good, as it was Type 2 hypertension at the beginning of the month, and that's not good. Amazing what exercise does!
-11 pounds this month--mostly counting points with WW. I've got enough Weight Watcher materials to start my own branch! Happy week all.

Exercise exercise exercise!

Friday, January 29, 2010

Walking and biking

3 mile walk with Aggie this morning. Just finished 10 mile bike ride and worked up a sweat even though I took 28 minutes to bike. Did a couple machines-my arms don't quite look like Michelle Obamas yet! Shower time!!

Friday

Yesterday: 2 mile slow jog at the RR Tracks. Haven't decided what for today.

Grounded again

I had a great yoga class yesterday. I will eek out a little jog today on the treadmill. Sagey has the flu now. I am hoping this is the germs last stop.

Thursday, January 28, 2010

I'm Back!

Today my neighbor and I went to the gym. I did 30 minutes of the elyptical and lifted weights. It felt really good, and I think I'll go back tomorrow!

Happy Thursday

Hi all,
I've been going to yoga and riding my stationary bike at home. I still haven't done any running.

I've had a sore leg for about a month and I'm waiting for it to go away but it's getting worse. Does anyone know what it could be or what type of therapy I could try? It's my left leg just to the left of the shin. It's the area between the shin and the muscle. It hurts all the way down but mostly up toward the knee starting about 3 inches down and mostly concentrated for about 8 inches. Locate that spot on your leg and tell me what that part is so I can google it. Sometimes my feet goes numb at night and it seems like it's all related.
I've tried massaging it and it hurts to the touch like it's bruised but it's not swollen or bruised.
Exercise doesn't bother it at all but I haven't tried running, just stretching, yoga and the bike.

Please let me know if anyone knows what that part of the body is called.

Also I've been chasing after two tiny 4 week old puppies. They are so cute. I wish you could all play with them! No we are not keeping them, just fostering them until they are strong enough and old enough to be adopted.

XOXO

Biker Mom again

10 miles on the bike at the club. It doesn't seem very hard. IGood thing--it does seem to help my sciatica/knee stuff. Upper body on machines. Gotta do something for the middle of me!

Catch Up

Hi All. I am still exercising. Just forgot to report. last two days:
Sunday: Walked Stagecoach from the top to the bench & back.
Tuesday: jogged at the tracks
Wednesday: Walk-Jogged at the tracks, but not very far. Couldn't get going.
Today is Thursday, Jan 28. I am sitting at the Airport using their connection. Hear a Westbound train on the radio. Will be working on the Park computer program after that. We are going to Apple later for a movie class.

Jan 27th

I jogged 2 miles at a nice slow pace.

Scotty and Sage snowshoed for 1 mile on a hilly trail and then Scott took a 1 mile stroll while on the phone. Good multi-tasking.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Exercised two times today

Linny, you can count one of my exercising time as yours! :) I rode 5 miles on the bike this afternoon and did weights for upper body.
xxoo to all

Motivation!

I'm logging on to say that it's Wednesday and I haven't exercised at all this week, I feel really bad. I really need to leave work and head straight to the gym... Grades were due this week and I've been staying at work for way too long, excuses, excuses, I guess. I need some motivation!

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Biker Mom

10 miles today--feels good. Walkman stopped. I think it was because it was down my shirt and got sweaty! Walk in the morning-only 10% chance of rain at 8 am. Started WW today-on my own-counting points. It has worked before and will again.

I can WALK.

I walked 1 and 1/4 miles today. Feeling better.

Monday, January 25, 2010

Labels for this post

I need to start labeling posts. Scott's school is putting money towards different health incentives. Exercise=Money if it is recorded. What better way than the family blog? Scott is not the type to log in but he likes that I blog it for him. So I am going to put labels on our posts so that I can find them later.

Scotty's exercise- Today a solid effort to get a bit of exercise. Scott ran 1 very fast mile on the treadmill and he chipped ice on our pathways for 10 minutes then he showered and rush to work.

Goals

No workout today. I forgot I had to skate the walkway. Hopefully yoga class tomorrow but we will see.

I have been finalizing my goals. Here is what I've got. I will make more concrete goals for a half-marathon later.

Running-
*I will run a half-marathon or eat a worm this year. I am leaning toward the race (quite a bit).
May 2010- I will run 5 miles, 3 times a week, most weeks.
April 2010- I will run 4 miles in 45 minutes, 3 times a week, most weeks.
March 2010- I will run 3 miles in 30 minutes 3 times a week most weeks.
February 2010- I will run 3 miles in 33 minutes, 3 times a week. most weeks.

I could have kicked myself for missing today's workout, but life happens. That is why I mentioning "most weeks". Which brings up another issue, should I start my race training program early? Since injuries, illnesses and all sorts of malfunctions happen (esp with kids) should I factor in some extra weeks so that if I miss a long run I would be able to repeat the week. Will that work?

Biking

It was a slow 10 miles at the gym 26 minutes. Pouring outdoors and every machine was taken, so no upper body today.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Rest day

Biggest exercise has been cleaning closets---finally got going! Happy week all, and remember to exercise. Bam Bam a roo. We are going to be so healthy! xxxxxxooooooo

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Not at 100%

Good on all of you. Sky everyone falls on their face in yoga class every once and a while. It shows you are pushing yourself.

I have done nothing since wednesdays double burn. I have been so sore and weak. Partly the workout and partly a cold. Mostly the workout, it was a little much and I didn't realize. It has been a huge chore just carrying Benny up and down the stairs.

Monday I will jump back in older and wiser.

Galleria walking

1 hour-and didn't find anything I was looking for!

still inching along

Went to a yoga class yesterday. It was my first ever classroom yoga experience. I actually fell on my face! Melia, do you know 'the stork' pose (I think that's what it was called). you balance upside down on your hands with your knees resting on your triceps. Well I was proud to be the only one in class to be able to do it and then BAM right on my face jaja.

Still just doing enough cardiac to keep the heart attacks at bay, riding my stationary bike 0 minutes a few times a week. I have yet to run even 20 yards. Maybe next week.

Chris and I are off to Cerritos alone for the whole night. Cece is coming to watch the kids. Maybe I'll try a job on the beach in the morning but don't hold me to it. XOXO

Happy exercising to all of you.

So Proud

Yeah, Mom is right. Every time I don't exercise when I have said that I would, I feel guilty knowing that other people are exercising and holding up their end of the challenge. So this week I didn't want to have that guilty feeling, and I'm happy to say that I exercised Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at the gym!

I'm going to try and stick with the exercise program three times a week for the next month or so, then I'll see if I can move up to more days. For now, I'm happy with three times a week. Yesterday was the first day in a long while that I ran. I went about two miles, then walked another 15 minutes.

Today we're going snowboarding for a little while this morning. I have to say, I think that my tailbone has just barely healed from last weeks 6 hour snowboard adventure...

Have a great weekend!

Friday, January 22, 2010

Happy Birthday, Scotty-I exercised!

Walked a couple miles; I'm going to buy a Walkman-type something so I can ride the bike longer at the gym-------too boring just peddling and looking at the person next to me huffing and puffing.
Happy exercising this weekend. This blog is a good idea. Guilt (the gift that never stops giving) sets in if I decide not to exercise----and all would know! xxoo Mom

Auburn Airport, Cloudy, 39 deg.


Thursday, Walked Stagecoach from the bottom to the waterfall.
Looks like no rain this morning (Friday) think I'll jog at the RR tracks.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Walked between the downpours!

Whew--have we had the weather. Aggie and I walked fast this morning--no rain-kinda chilly for Auburn! Felt good. Gym tomorrow.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

I almost didn't go... Glad I did!

Hey Peeps,
Today I went to the gym and did 35 minutes on the elyptical trainer... It was boring, I think I'll start running on Friday when I go. I have to say it was a helpful stress relief after a crazy day at work. I almost didn't go, but sucked it up and went, and I'm glad that I did.

double burn

30 pushups, 60 sit ups, 60 lunges (ugh), 45 squats, 3.5 miles on treadmill (40 mins.) Legs sore and rubbery now. Kids in a constant chorus of mommma... Thought i posted this and then it wasn't there, strange.......


ack! now I see the other post and can't get rid of this one.

Double burn

30 pushups, 60 lunges (yuck), 45 squats, 60 sit ups, and 3.5 miles.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Sticking to it.

I am so glad we are going the distance. Having a big HUGE ENORMOUS goal of a half marathon is really helping me. I have looked up some training programs. They will be helpful later. I am just working on my overall fitness so I can keep up with those training programs in the future.

I went to the gym today for my old yoga class. It is so cool that not much has changed. Same teacher, same regulars. The workout felt great.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Big Weekend

Well, I guess my exercise weekend started with a memorable hike up Mount Philo on Saturday... Sunday we snowboarded all day and I am sore, sore, sore! Today we took Norma on a little walk through the woods and then went to the gym. I did 35 minutes on the eliptical trainer. Hopefully this week will be a better exercise week for me . Last week, was a bad week for exercise.

Slow start for me

I can't seem to fully commit to my exercise plan. I'm a slow starter I guess. I've been hiking a little which is more for the view than anything. Today I rode my stationary bike and did a little yoga but overall I've yet to push myself. I just feel good to be moving! Our weather is delightful and perfect for sweating comfortably so I need to get on it.

I'm impressed with all of your efforts. Way to go Fullers!

Walk, ski, plow, jog

we did it all. Benny is walking now. all the time.



Scott skiied or plowed most of the day.

I jogged today, skiied yesterday.

Sagey is decorating for MLK day even though I told her that it isn't the norm. We also watched 4 versions of the speech on youtube.

Rain Walk

It was wet, but we did it! We tried to keep under the overhangs at the Bel Air shopping center. Off to REI to look for winter shoes for the trip east. Happy Day all

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Cross-country skied on thursday 45 minutes. getting kind of icy here, we need more snow.

Riding and staying put!

Biked for 5 miles-13:55 minutes at the gym. Upper body machines...done for the day. Sciatica and joints sore--biking (the bike that is more horizontal than vertical) seems to help--we'll see. Maybe I need to do that bike everyday plus the walk.

Cruising

Saturday, January 16, 2010

No needy ladies this morning

We had a good walk--expecting big rain storms the next few days...II'll have to hit the bike at the club. HOORAY for Melinda and Kevin's great news! Hooray for families--our rocks! xxoo

Friday, January 15, 2010

Adventure Walk!

Aggie and I started out on our walk this morning not knowing of the adventure we were going to come upon. Over by the hospital there was this somewhat bewildered lady with blood streaming down her face and hands. She was on her way to K-Mart for Tylenol, a calendar and Fritos! She was wearing bedroom slippers and had forgotten her cane. She had fallen. We said we would walk her back to her apt (at least a mile away) but she wouldn't hear of it-just wanted to go to Kmart. We asked her if she wanted us to walk her there, and she did. She was really shaky. We didn't have our phones, but knew she wasn't going to make it to Kmart. I ran over to the barbershop by the gas station and called Dad to come get us. He took us to Kmart, and then I went home to get my car. She did the shopping, and we drove her home. She had no family that she talked with, and her apt had just paths to walk through the piles of stuff! We left her with some Bam jam and applesauce, oranges, homemade bread and a pumpkin pie. She didn't want us to check on her. So sad to alienate family...and there she was alone! I thought she was about a billion years old, but only 76! The lesson---love family, mend fences and don't fall down! Shortened walk today-we'll do more tomorrow! Love to you all!


Team Maine checking in

I am hap- hap- happy. In a tough decision we are trading cable for my gym membership. I took both kids today. Benny fit right in and played happily. I ran, 3.5 miles in 40 mins and lifted weights which felt so good.

Scott went x-c this morning. I didn't get the report back but I bet it was a 3.5 mile with lots of climbing.

We are going to be looking good this year. :)

Zan - Parked at Auburn Airport

Temp: 42 deg. Partly Cloudy. Parked at the Airport. (WiFi here)
Yesterday I walked Upper Stagecoach, then did yard work. Cut up a bunch of branched. They were "junk" wood, but I cut them up for firewood. Maybe just the thing for a quick fire in the downstairs stove.

Today: Plan to Burn if it is a burn day, probably walk Stagecoach.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Galleria walk

I spent a couple hours walking in the shopping center. Lots of sales.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Walking and no rain or fog-just cold

Aggie and I walked our 2.5. It is always a good time! xxoo

yay for scott

he did 1 hr of x-c skiing. i did vomit laundry. manana....

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Melinda 1/12/10

Yesterday was my off day and so today I did 20 minutes of easy running on the treadmill, and some pull-ups. I think being on an every other day workout schedule for me is a good idea, I always start out too fast, doing too much and end up getting burnt out or hurt.

Also, if anybody needs help with a workout plan let me know, I would love to help put one together with you.

Diet Pepsi

I haven't had any Diet Pepsi since I left Canada 11/22/09. That was a good choice. I've been tempted when tired--but drink water instead. Bravo for me!

Tuesday

No workout yesterday
Rain today, so I did a (very) light workout at the club. Elliptical & upper body. Haven't touched the upper body for a long time, so I did mostly the motions with no weight. Rain tomorrow, so i will add some weight.

January 12th

I ran 2 miles in 22 mins. I was short on time but glad I followed through with something. I chose to sleep in rather than a 5 A.M. run. It was a good choice.

Pretty sure Scott is having his day off today.

Monday, January 11, 2010

Walking

Whew! It took me until 2 pm to get out and exercise. It is much easier to walk when Aggie is here! I walked to BlockBuster to return the movies Melia and I slept through on New Year's Eve, then did a deposit for Chris at the Bank and walked home. It is totally fogged in now. B-r-r-r-r
xxoo

Race possibility

How about the MAINE Marathon? It is not exotic or new to any of us but it would be a pretty race. Oct 4th I think, It will be peak colors for fall.

Other reasons are entirely selfish- travel expenses and what to do with the kids, etc.. The race site didn't have pictures but I know the route is well chosen. Here is the link to the comments section. I thought they were nice. Of course we would be happy to host family racers here. We can make lots of room.

http://www.mainemarathon.com/comments.shtml

Sunday, January 10, 2010

Bam's Sunday Exercise

I didn't see a bear, drop my ipod or see a dead bird.
I did walk to the gym, did upper body stuff on the circuit training machines
Rode 5 miles in 15 minutes. Friday I rode 4.71 miles in 45 minutes....just set the bike to a different work out and I was finished in a flash! Then I walked home. xxoo

Too cold? Won't stop us....from working out inside

We had a full day of various workouts. We started out our day at the gym. Melinda ran on the track for 20 mins and Sully ran 2 miles on the track (after fumbling his iPod off of a 2 story ledge. Rest in peace, sweet music making machine). After running, Sully pumped iron and then we both suffered through Melinda's 7 minute abs of steel workout. After the gym, we took Norma Jean on a hike and then, later, a walk around the block.

Scott and Sage skiied too.

1.5 miles. Scott says it was a slow go. I reminded him of our first bike rides with Sage and how slow they were. By fall we had jog to keep up.

Sage's favorite part was slide walking. Here is her quote, " I loved the trip even when it was hard. When I fell down daddy just helped me up. Suddenly I thought a bear was coming, I was very scared."

Went hiking



I went hiking today. It is a short walk but a good steep incline and I had to alternate carrying Evan and Hayden because they got tired fast so it was a but burner. The view from the top is beautiful. You can see the Pacific on one side and the Sea of Cortez and the marina on the other.


Conquered a Hill

X-C Skiing today. 1.5 hours. I worked on going up and down a few hills. I find that yelling things like "more pizza, no french fries, more pizza" helps me get my skis in the right position.

Stagecoach

Sunday 1-10-2010 Walked Upper Stagecoach down to Stagecoach and back. It felt good.

Fitness Attempts!

Saturday 2.5 mile walk with Aggie
Stood in one place at Apple Store for 3 hours!
I like the new computer-I actually can see it!
Made bread---ate too many slices.
Will get brave and weigh on Monday!

Saturday, January 9, 2010

Scott x-c skiied

3.5 miles and saw a dead bird.

RR Tracks

Jogged 2 miles at the tracks. One eastbound freight on the #1 (westbound) track. - Zan

Stagecoach

Getting back in shape. Walked down Stagecoach trail in Auburn to the 1 mile mark yesterday. Made it back up to the car fine. Last week I turned around before the bench and had a hard time making it back to the top. It is now Saturday and very foggy, although it is starting to look like it will burn off. I plan to do something a little later.
Art / Zan

Tips for Posting and Commenting

You can comment anytime. Just click the comment button type what you want to say. Under that it says "comment as" with a drop down menu. You may choose Name/URL. A URL can be a website address but you do not need to put anything there. If you do your name will become a link to that site so Art may want to link to Zansalmanac.com.

To post you must first become an author. Just accept the invitation I sent before (or I can send again if you need). Make a google account with you normal email address and a password a screen name.
When you go on to this page make sure you are logged in by google account. Click sign in and fill in username, which is your email address and the password that you set before.
Then just click new post. Follow screen instructions.

Melinda's Post

Yeah! This is so exciting, I walked home from school (1 mile) yesterday and haven't done anything yet today.. Happy weekend everyone!

Friday, January 8, 2010

January 8th

This is an example of a blog post. I have not worked out yet.

Ideas for using this blog

The whole family has been invited to be one of the authors of this blog. authors can make new posts. If you don't want to register as an author you can still visit the site and make a comment.
The author to go on the the site and log their workout on that day should make a new post with the date on it.
Everyone who does their workout can comment on that post and add in his or her workout for the day.
Add comments of encouragement.
Add posts for other fun topics like the race location, injuries, diet questions etc. come up with them or comment as you like.
There might be some fun tickers we can explore at some point. They chart your progress and can be added on the side.


Other ideas? Lets keep this post and add new ideas.

We also can ditch the blog. Ha ha ha